Need an account?


The prestigious annual Legacy Award recognizes a distinguished professional for outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of public relations. The award will be presented at the 2016 PRSA Houston Excalibur for Excellence Awards Gala on June 23, 2015. 

Candidates for the 2016 Legacy Award must be a current or former Houston chapter member and have at least 25 years of experience in public relations. Chapter members are encouraged to nominate a colleague, mentor or role model who meets these criteria. The award may be given posthumously.
Nominations should demonstrate the candidate's leadership and expertise in the field of public relations through:

•    Outstanding service to his/her company, community, organization or educational institutional
•    Outstanding service to PRSA Houston
•    Honors, awards and recognition, and accreditation
•    Advancing the body of knowledge and public image of the profession through teaching, writing, speaking, mentoring, and/or PRSA volunteer/leadership positions

To nominate a candidate, please submit a letter or brief summary highlighting the candidate's qualifications by April 15 to Legacy Award Committee Chair Lee Vela at . Submissions should not exceed two pages in length.

Former Legacy Award Winners:
2015:  Margot Dimond, APR
2014: Judi Martin, APR
2013: Ben Wheatley, ABC, APR
2012: George Nelson, APR
2011: Dr. Barbara Langham, APR
2010: Kris Taylor, APR
2009: Julie B. Fix, APR, Fellow PRSA, Fix & Associates
2008: Phillip Taggart, APR
2007: Dr. Bob Heath, APR
2006: Graham Painter, APR
2005: Guy Brown, APR
2004: Will Osterloh, APR, Fellow PRSA
2003: Gayle McNutt, APR, Fellow PRSA
2002: Sabra Gill, APR, Fellow PRSA
2001: Tom Stewart, APR, Fellow PRSA
2000: Ralph Frede, APR, Fellow PRSA
1999: James W. Hart