Need an account?

PRSA November Meeting to Highlight the Communications Curriculum in HISD

 Learn how future PR pros and journalists are being trained for their careers by interacting with students and instructors from Jack Yates High School’s Communications, Photography & Journalism Magnet Program 

HOUSTON (Oct. 6, 2009) -- Communications professionals are invited to attend the Nov. 4 Public Relations Society of America Houston Chapter’s (PRSA) monthly meeting that will showcase the Houston Independent School District’s (HISD) magnet program for communications, photography and journalism and students from Yates High School. The talented students enrolled in this program are being groomed for careers in PR, journalism, and communications and will soon be entering the workforce as employees, journalists, PRSA chapter members, and clients. Attendees will walk away with a better awareness of the types of pre-college training these future communicators are receiving and will be able to share perspectives about the skills and competencies needed by communicators of tomorrow.

The meeting is being presented by the Public Relations Foundation of Houston, the philanthropic arm of Houston PRSA that awards the chapter’s annual $3,000 college scholarship to a student studying communications disciplines at area universities. The luncheon will be held at The Briar Club, with networking starting at 11:30 a.m. followed by the lunch and presentation. Reservations may be made at

HISD is in the process of refining the curriculum at the Yates Magnet School of Communications to better integrate current media technology with communications staples like writing and photography.  As such, the students will lead a significant portion of lunch presentation that will include a multi-media show highlighting their reasons and goals for entering the profession. Instructors will share success stories and their ambitious plans for improving 21st century communications education. 

Supporting the Yates effort is a robust group of volunteers that are providing mentoring leadership and guidance. They include current and former members of the media community: Andrea Georgsson, former editor, Houston Chronicle; Carolyn Campbell, formerly with KHOU-TV; Jodie Sinclair, veteran broadcaster and Director of Communication for Jim Adler; Kathy Williams, assistant news director, KPRC-TV; Laurie Kendricks, formerly with KTRH-Radio. Communications community volunteers including Raymond Gayle; James Ward, TSU; Pam Thorne, president, the Throne Group; Wendy Adair, TSU; Jeanine Wilson. HISD leadership including Caleen Allen, General Manager, Strategic Partnerships; Paula Harris, HISD Board of Trustees; Jim Landureth, HISD TV; Tracey Lewis, Assistant Principal; Ronald Mumphery, Principal; Josephine Rice; Adriana Tamez, Central Region Superintendent; Norm Uhl, manager, Media Relations; Lee Vela, Assistant Superintendent for Communications and Publications.

CNN contributor Roland S. Martin, a Yates alumnus, is assisting HISD’s efforts to raise awareness and funds for this magnet school program.


For more information or images contact:

Susan Schmaeling, APR,  (713) 349-0780

 For registration information contact:

Paula Ruth, APR,   (281) 870-1717

Editor’s Notes:

About HISD:  The Houston Independent School District serves a diverse student population of more than 200,000 making it the largest public school system in Texas and the seventh-largest in the United States. Its schools are dedicated to giving every student the best possible education through an intensive core curriculum and specialized, challenging instructional and career programs.

 About Public Relations Foundation of Houston:  The PRFH was formed in 2001 by the Houston Chapter of PRSA to support the growth and development of the PR profession. Its chief activities are to award an annual $3,000 scholarship to an undergraduate or graduate student studying PR/communications at an area university and to administer a grants program to benefit communications educators. In May 2009, the PRFH Board of Trustees announced that McKenzie Watkins as the recipient of the 2009/2010 PRFH Scholarship, which this year is being awarded in honor of founding trustee Sabra Gill. Watkins is a senior at Texas A&M University majoring in Ag Communication and Journalism with a special concentration in Public Relations.

Eydie Pengelly, APR
(713) 467-2718
Author: Eydie Pengelly, APR
Phone: (713) 467-2718
Category: luncheon news | Sub Category: foundation